top of page

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated is a, non-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world.


Founded on January 13, 1913 by twenty-two collegiate women at Howard University, the Sorority is currently a sisterhood of more than 200,000 predominately Black college educated women.


This includes 1,000 collegiate and alumnae chapters located in the United States, Canada, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, and the Republic of Korea.


The major programs of the sorority are based upon the organization’s Five-Point Programmatic Thrust:

     ● Economic Development

     ● Physical and Mental Health

     ● Educational Development

     ● Political Awareness and Involvement

     ● International Awareness and Involvement


For more information, visit our national website at

Chapter History

The Asheville Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. began from a group called Asheville Deltas. The group was comprised of Asheville natives who had been initiated in college, some residing in Asheville, and others in various states.  One of the first actions taken by the group was pooling together their finances in order to give an annual scholarship to a deserving girl in high school. The Asheville members included: Ruth Cambers Carolina, Amanda Walker Kelly, Sadie Douglas Moore, Ollie McCool Reynolds, Daszelle Williams, and Mable Williams McCaine. Supporting out-of-town members included: Constance Peeler Baker, Altona Trent Johns, Jennie Thompson McDougle, Doris Greer Smith, Queen Esther Ray Waller, Etrulia Cunningham Williams, Jean Hayes Williams (Allen) and Deloris Winkfield.

On May 14, 1955 the Epsilon Lambda Sigma Chapter (later named Asheville Alumnae Chapter) was organized by, then Eastern Regional Director, Jennie Douglas Taylor with assistance from Alberta Tucker Grimes from the Gamma Lambda Sigma Chapter, located in Greenville, South Carolina. The Charter Members and Officers elected were: Ollie M. Reynolds (deceased), President; Sadie D. Moore (deceased), Vice-President; Lettie Wilson Polite, Recording Secretary; Evelyn w. Williams (deceased), Financial Treasurer; Jennie T. McDougle (deceased), Sergeant-at-Arms; Daszelle Williams (deceased), Custodian; Christine W. Avery (deceased), and Mable W. McCaine (deceased).


Asheville Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. received their charter on May 15, 1955 and has been serving the Asheville, NC community for over 60 years. 

The first meeting of the new chapter.

First row left to right: Mrs. E. V. Williams, Mrs. G. B. Washington, Mrs. J. D. Taylor, Mrs. O.M. Reynolds, Mrs. J. T. McDougle, Mrs. S. D. Moore, and Mrs. J. H. Williams. Standing left to right: Miss Daszelle Williams, Mrs. L. W. Polite, Mrs. Q. R. Waller, Mrs. A. T. Grimes and Miss Marguerite Sells.

bottom of page